Girl Talk With Sabrina C.- The Advantages of Having an Older Brother.

Hi, It’s Me Sabrina Culpepper for Junior Hollywood News. My new contribution will be Girl Talk at least once a month.  We hope you enjoy it.

 

I have been blessed with having a brother who is 11 months older than me, Yes, I know, I have heard all the jokes already. I was unplanned but still loved, yes you can get pregnant while nursing,  Surprise it’s a girl!!
I have decided to share some of the life lessons I have learned by having a brother so close in age. No only is he my older brother but my best friend in the entire world.
I recently asked my brother some questions I want to share his answers with you.

Me: Why do you only start dating someone new during the summer.
Drake: Make up
Me: Excuse me? Make up? what does that have to do with anything.
Drake: Girls have it made. You see a guy and immediately you know he is cute or not. Us guys we see a beautiful girl across the room and have no clue what she really looks like.
Me: Ok what does that have to do with makeup.?
Drake: One of my first dates with someone new is boating, tubing and swimming.  If the makeup survives all that she has something serious she is hiding. I want to be able to want to look at someone without make up on and still think they are cute.
Me: That is pretty shallow Drake.
Drake: Not at all.  You see some of the cutest girls I have dated really look better without make up on.  I love freckles and think they are adorable. Why cover them up? I can see if they have some disfiguring birth mark or big patch of discolored skin wanting to even out the skin tones but I don’t want some one who is going to cost me half my pay check at the cosmetics counter later in life.
Me: What if they refuse to go out on the water with you.?
Drake: Its not a deal breaker but it does limit the dates. I live on the water. I love the water so of course that is where I am going to want someone to want to spend time with me.
Me: What if they make up washes off and they are seriously ugly?
Drake: (Laughs) now who is being shallow
Me: Well you said you want to see them without makeup on.
Drake: I am not sure that is what I said but what I meant was I want to see them in their natural look. I want to be aware of their natural beauty. That includes how they smile, how they laugh, how they make me feel.  You know me, what you see is what you get. I want a girl to be the same way with me. Don’t pretend to be a way one day and then in  few weeks or months turn into the bride of Chucky.
Me: So you want to see what she looks like without make up so you trick her into going swimming? You want her to make you laugh? Is that about right?
Drake:  Looks are not everything sis. She has to have confidence, she has to like herself and not always be putting herself down fishing for compliments, she has to have ambitions and know what she wants to do in her life and she has to be a good person. Looks are the last thing on the  list unless she wears tons of make up. That is a deal breaker.
Me: Do you just not like makeup?
Drake: are you trying to be difficult. I never said I did not like makeup. I don’t like it when you can see it standing off the face. I don’t like it caked on and I sure don’t like it when someone puts their head on my shoulder and I have to pretreat my shirt for two hours to get all their make up out.
Me: I see so it is safe to say you are picky.
Drake: I am not picky and you are just being annoying now. Go ask someone else I am done.
Me: I love you
Drake:  I will get back to you with my answer later.

We both laugh because that is our standard reply for when one of us annoys the other.  I am thinking my brother doesn’t know what he likes. Either you do or you don’t like make up.
I have seen plenty of guys out in public in LA with make up on and have to admit I thought they looked nuts but if that was what they wanted to do then so be it.  But make up and females just go hand in hand. It is a right of passage. It is what being a woman is about. You want to look the best you can. Besides what else do teen girls do on boring sleep overs if they don’t do each other’s make up?

Leave a Reply

